The Transition

20120814-114159.jpg

Pictured: New signage and window stickers.

School is back in session.

Well, kinda. The students have their after-school, and my mornings are still free.

Yesterday I spent my morning helping Dad get on the proper bus to the airport. Today The Friar called, and I took it as as good an excuse as any to run home and grab something I forgot.

Anyways, there are only two weeks of classes left, which actually shocks me as it has gone by so fast. It’s bittersweet. I definitely could have worked harder, but for the longest time I didn’t know what to do exactly, and my coworkers were less than helpful. Sadly, my classes this term have been going swimmingly. We’re getting through all the material and the students are paying attention to and respecting me more.

But enough about that.

After work, I have I get some documents to my new old job, and then I’m taking a little vacation with C. I’ll have to start moving out this weekend, as then I plan to have fully moved out by the end of next weekend.

I plan on moving into a goshiatel, which is a little cube, basically a miniature, long-term, hotel. The benefits: cheaper, no utilities bill, no $5,000 money key deposit precariously placed into the sweaty hands of a landlord, no getting evicted if you quit or your contract is up.

It will be smaller, but The Friar will be right next door. I only plan on using it for sleeping, and as long as it serves that purpose I’ll be golden.

My old job is about thirty minutes away from my current area. I like my area, it most of my friends will be leaving in the next six months. C will still be here, but I’ll be able to get a bus down on occasionally after work, and we’ll still have the weekends. I’ll work in the afternoon, so no alarms and no worries if I have a late night.

I’ll be near my old friends and farther from my new ones. However, I like working evenings. I plan on taking a walk before work and hitting the gym after. I can spend my down one studying Korean. While teaching probably isn’t for me, if I learn enough Korean I can perhaps get a different job in the country.

I plan on staying for eight months or so, taking an Asian vacation, a US road trip, and finally, going home, seeing all of the sights (I  mean all of them) near my hometown, learning construction from my Dad and Uncle, and getting in shape. Next September I will be looking for something new, hopefully in Korea, pray-to-god not teaching.

Also, I have come to the conclusion that I will start chronicling my vacation on Friday. Thus, all of the days will be synchronized as they occurred, making it easier for me. And you, the reader, can imagine that I’m taking the vacation in real life. Sweet deal, huh?

One thought on “The Transition

  1. Pingback: A Rainy Day Off « theghostcoast

Have at me!